Scotland Western Region Schools Timeline - 1974

In 1974 there were 26 schools of nursing in the Scotland Western Region of the NHS involving 123 hospitals  in nurse training - spread across 23 geographical regions of the UK. 13 regions in  England - plus 7 regions covering the Isle of Man, Channel Islands, Wales and Scotland. Not forgetting of course the Schools of Nursing of the armed services, each of which used it's own military hospitals.

All were part of the then still mushrooming growth of the NHS following its inception in1948.  An NHS which was to cater for all.  Cradle to the grave. An NHS attempting to cover almost all known medical conditions. Not surprising then that since that beginning there had developed a plethora of nursing specialties, some sub-divided into highly specialized categories, all designed to meet particular needs. The nurses to meet those needs - General, Sick Children's, Mental, and Mental Subnormality Nurses, were, by 1974, being trained under the auspices of the General Nursing Councils. One for England and Wales; one for Scotland; and one for Northern Ireland.

In 1974 there were 27 main qualifications which students of nursing studied and trained for. Which number did not include many highly specialized courses, including university degrees, followed consecutively and concurrently by basic course students and qualified nurses. Midwifery training has always been a feature....

The 1974 timeline is about the schools of nursing which trained the vast majority of nurses who then practiced in the UK.  About the courses. About the students who followed them to become registered nurses. About the awards they gained on the way. About their teachers, including ward staff. About the hospitals. About nursing practice. Above all it is about the reality of the practice of nurse education and training in the '70's. All about it.... Welcome!!

   1 Argyll and Bute Hospital School of Nursing.
   2 Broomhill and Lanfine Hospitals School of Nursing.
   3 Coathill Hospital School of Nursing.
   4 Gartloch Hospital School of Nursing.
   5 Glasgow Northern Hospitals Group School of Nursing.
   6 Glasgow Royal Hospital for Sick Children School of Nursing.
   7 Glasgow Royal Infirmary and Associated Hospitals School of Nursing.
   8 Glasgow South Western Hospitals School of Nursing.
   9 Glasgow Victoria and Leverndale Hospitals School of Nursing.
   10 Glasgow Western and Gartnavel Hospitals School of Nursing.
   11 Greenock Group School of Nursing.
   12 Hairmyers Hospital School of Nursing.
   13 Hartwood Hospital School of Nursing.
   14 Larbert Hospital School of Nursing.
   15 Law Hospital School of Nursing.
   16 Lennox Castle Hospital School of Nursing.
   17 Motherwell, Hamilton and District School of Nursing.
   18 Northern Ayreshire Hospitals School of Nursing.
   19 Paisley and District Hospitals Group School of Nursing.
   20 South ayrshire and Ailsa Hospitals Group School of Nursing.
   21 South West Scotland College of Nursing.
   22 Stirling And Falkirk School of Nursing.
   23 Vale of Leven Hospital School of Nursing.
   24 Victoria Hospital School of Nursing.
   25 West Highland Hospital Scool of Nursing.
   26 Woodilee Hospital School of Nursing.

School  Region Home Bibliography Forum